XSIMM-10 RAM issues (with video) + Monitor Discussion

Started by Pinwizkid, October 21, 2015, 12:39:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Pinwizkid

Too much to type up, so I made a video:

https://youtu.be/ymL7v-A1ZGM (update: fixed all of my issues in this video! See posts below.)

Also, here's the dipswitches on my XSIMM-10:

Could it be a bad chip on my mother board? Thanks as always for your help guys,

-BB

skpstmgs

For the switch/extraction issues: You are typing in full width mode. Switch to half width. I think it's the button to the right of XF5 on the keyboard to toggle it. I'm not convinced the dip switches are set correctly but I'm no expert on those, so I think someone else should check to see what they should be set to.

famiac

I tested the device before sending it. The switches are correct

Do you get these errors without the board?

Pinwizkid

I would get the same errors when booting games from games3 and certain games from games2, but the error on boot up is new. I was looking at the pictures you sent me and comparing it to the board and it might be that the dipswitches shifted during shipping (not sure how), as bank 2 is definitely set different (I didn't change any of them).

Pinwizkid

Thanks skpstmgs, that was indeed my issue with running the extraction. SP2 now installed. I also was able to get Switch to save my settings again by accessing it from command prompt instead of LHES on a tip from SuperDeadite.

I removed the XSIMM-10 card and ran MTEST to test my built in memory. The results were good:

If anyone can chime in on what the correct XSIMM-10 S2 dipswitch settings should be for 10 MB (2X 4MB Simms + 2X 1MB Simms), I'll double check them. The diagram is a bit difficult to interpret at first, but I think it should be:

Blank=0
B2=1
B1=0
B0=1
AZ=1
A2=0
A1=0
A0=1

I will try this and run MTEST again (Famiac, these switch settings match the pic you initially sent me, so they might have gotten mis-aligned in shipping).

-BB

hyperneogeo