Newbie RGB Monitor Question

Started by 16 Bit Import, March 27, 2004, 03:49:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

16 Bit Import

Hello,

Two Questions:

1: Can I play low res games on a medium res monitor? What about high res on a medium res monitor?

2:    I'm a newbie when it comes to getting getting RGB out of my systems, as I've been using S-Video all this time - but I think it's time to upgrade.
   I was thinking about purchasing this monitor:

http://www.massystems.com/RGBMonitor.html

It has an 8 PIN DIN Input on the back (a combo of RGB and S-Video). This is fine for connecting my Supergun, although the Supergun has a different  male jack on the RGB cable it came with I think I can find an appropriate 8 pin male connector and do some soldering. Also, my supergun has separate jacks for audio.
   However, I was wondering if it would work just as well for my home consoles? I'm not concerned about the video, because I think I could easily make a cable with that 8 Pin connector and a scart connector, and connect that cable to the monitor and connect the home console's RGB cable to that custom cable.
   I am worried about the audio though. On any home system isn't the L/R audio in the scart pins, as opposed to being a separate jack? On that 8 pin female monitor input there are no pins for audio (the other pins are for s-video - don't ask me why - it has to do with the configuration of their supergun). The audio is on two separate jacks. So how would I get audio, say, out of an X-Box/PS2 when using this monitor for RGB? Is it even possible? If not, are there any other places I could buy a monitor that would suit my purposes? What's the best CRT monitor out there that I could get for this (don't worry about price)? What places specialize in high-quality arcade CRT monitors (preferrably with wells-gardner tubes)?