X68000 IOCS & DOS documentation project.

Started by FedericoTech, September 11, 2023, 04:19:37 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

FedericoTech

Hi everyone.

I'm fairly new with the X68000. I must say that I haven't even seen one for real. Only in the Internet and through emulators.

With some documentation I found here an there I managed to do some programs and I thought that the best services I can do for the community is to document the library in a way that anyone can understand because the info that is available is scarce and in Japanese.

This is a great endeavour. I have spent hundreds of hours researching the machine and doing small examples. You can find them in my github https://github.com/FedericoTech/X68KTutorials

Any help is welcome.

kamiboy

Cheers, you are doing gods work. These kinds of endeavors come into being and vanish off of the internet with slow regularity. A github is a good idea for posterity.

Had a quick look at the repository, and that is some useful stuff, especially the sound and music examples, I hope to make use of them some time.

I would say some crucial things that are missing, or that perhaps I couldn't quickly locate at s cursory glance, is stuff to do with the crt raster routines, which is crucial for development of game engine loops, and examples on how to use DMA memory transfers.

FedericoTech

Hi Kamiboy,

DMA doesn't have its own sample yet but it is in one called Sonic.

In that example I load the tiles of several characters, set the sprites and update the tiles with the three DMA modes (instead of rotating the tiles in the sprite, just because) and I use the vsync_disp to keep the count of frames.

I have another call Raster where I animate the Sonic sprite and I use the vsync_disp raster to draw it twice reusing the sprites in the same frame.