OG X68000! Power works, having trouble with FDD’s..

Started by Report2marty, April 08, 2019, 10:08:45 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Report2marty

Greetings Everyone!  I’m new to the x68000 scene and looking for some help..  So, the machine powers up with power led lit green and the Highreso idle red (31khz) monitor.  I replaced a leaky ni-cad batt and have ordered a new oscillator as well.  Before I recapped both FDD’s I would insert a disk and it would immediately spit it back out and show the “can’t boot from disk error” on the screen.  After recapping 0 drive engages in reading/spinning but I receive a red light and it ejects.  1 disk drive is dead other than the main wheel spinning.  It does not spin the disk at all, nor does the drive head lower in an attempt to read a track.  Also, the sensor is not triggering to auto eject.  I’ve cleaned the heads and rails as well.  I’m kinda stuck at the moment...  any and all help is greatly appreciated.

leonk

I think you have 2 options if you can’t get it to work. Purchase a good known drive or use the FDX68

Report2marty

Thank you!  Yeah, that’s what I figured...  Is there any info out there on the FDX68 that a beginner like me can follow along?

mattsoft

You could also try getting a SCSI2SD device working on your SASI bus and use the excellent compilation image available up here.

leonk

Quote from: mattsoft on April 09, 2019, 12:35:33 AM
You could also try getting a SCSI2SD device working on your SASI bus and use the excellent compilation image available up here.

Not going to work.  He needs the SASI driver to be loaded into SRAM before the SCSI2SD will start working on the OG X68000.

I documented the FDX68 on the Wiki.

mattsoft

Quote from: leonk on April 09, 2019, 01:26:31 AM
Quote from: mattsoft on April 09, 2019, 12:35:33 AM

Not going to work.  He needs the SASI driver to be loaded into SRAM before the SCSI2SD will start working on the OG X68000.

I documented the FDX68 on the Wiki.