Forum Updated! 

Main Menu

X68000 HELP !

Started by cat9921, January 16, 2019, 04:23:13 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

cat9921

HI all

great forum, Ok were to start  ::)

I have a x68000 original model that I got from jauce.com . I have managed to get the power on thanks to this site and have a master disk to load and I have a scart adapter to try.  But I do not get a TV signal from my sharp ?

I have read a bout this

https://gamesx.com/wiki/doku.php?id=x68000:fixing_rgb_output

The problem is I am not good at electrics   :'( I only just managed to get the power done from help by a friend. I don't know if the keyboard is working either, the keys don't light up, and obviously not being able to get a signal on the tv, not sure if it's working

So what I am asking is this is there a person in the uk that can fix this and recap as well.
Sorry for such a begging post for help but I do not know what else to do

Thanks

SuperDeadite

SCART adapter?  Is your moniter compatible with this?  The system outputs RGBHV at 31khz.  Your typical 15khz SCART tv isn't going to work.

haightc

Like superdeadite said the default resolution is closer the VGA.   The x68000 uses an odd sync timing so even then it might not work.   For example my ikegami htm-1700 would choke on the resolution.    My Megaview 29 will kind of display but the picture is fuzy.   However on the XM2950 and viewsonic GS900 the picture is fine.   Of all my professional monitor it looks best on the viewsonic.

cat9921

First off A big thank you for the replies . As you lot have figured I am a noob to all of this
I live in the Uk and the adapter that I mention is this one

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/RGB-SCART-Sharp-X68000-cable-x68k/331636530283?epid=517134266&hash=item4d3713dc6b:g:WhYAAOSwymxVO-Ep:rk:10:pf:0

So how would you go about getting the x68000 on a UK TV or monitor ?
Thanks

skpstmgs