X68000 ACE HD Memory Expansion

Started by X-Col, September 03, 2014, 08:29:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

X-Col

Hi Guys,

I'm brand new to X68000 but have been enjoying emulation of the system for a few months. I just had to have the 'real' thing.
I've just read that you can't expand an ACE until it has 2mb internal memory! I didn't know this and have already bought a Basic House KGB-PRKII 8mb expansion board in order to run stuff off HD. Does this mean that this board can't be used to expand the system until I buy some sort of internal expansion?
If so, why is this the case? And is there a way round it?

Sorry if this has already been discussed,

Col

eidis

Hi X-Col !

Every X68000 must have 2MB ram before it can be expanded further with I/O slot expansion cards. Japanese are very nice and kind people. Sometimes the purchased X68000 have various goodies inside which are not listed in the auction description. It could be that your ACE had 1MB internal RAM expansion. If not, you will need to buy one. Compatible models are CZ-6BE1A and PIO-6834-1M

Keep the scene alive !
Eidis
X68000 personal computer is called, "X68K" or "no good good" is called, is the PC that are loved by many people today.

X-Col

Oh no!
I can't sell my other kidney to buy one of those!  :o

Done loads of reading up on the system before buying one, don't know how I missed this important piece of information.
Hopefully there is one in there, but knowing my luck there won't be.

Would you suggest buying a HxC in the meantime so I can at least use it?
I have no way of transferring images to floppy at present, my 5.25 is not reading and writing reliably.

costa

Hi X-Col.

I got one spare, can sell you.
Not cheap, but you wont have to sell your kidney.

pm to you.

eidis

Hi X-Col !

No need to sell the kidney ;) Just wait until your X68000 arrives and maybe you will have a secret bonus item inside.