News:

Forum Updated! 

Main Menu

MIDI Cards for X68000

Started by e1000, October 01, 2013, 02:44:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

e1000

Hi all,

I'm a newbie on this forum and also on X68000, and I'm trying to find more information regarding MIDI expansion cards for X68k.

Doing some research I found three different MIDI card models:

• SHARP CZ-6BM1A
  • SACOM SX-6 8 M
  • SACOM SX-6 8 M-2

However I find only few information about each card. Even by researching previous posts on this forum.

Apart from being MIDI cards that might be connected to modules such as MT-32 or SC-50 / 88, I don't know any other features about each card.

Please, can you help me by providing some information about each card model? Look to table below.

MIDI Card  Main features    good / bad points 
SHARP CZ-6BM1A
?
?
SACOM SX-6 8 M
?
?
SACOM SX-6 8 M-2
?
?

Thanks in advance!

Neshek

Hello and welcome my fellow noob :)

I don't know much about pros and cons of different midi cards, but i think you need a different proprietary cable for System Sacom SX-68 Midi2.
Found a link just in case: http://www.sssp.mihara.hiroshima.jp/~shimsoft/x68/midicable/mkmidicablee.html

Experts will confirm or bash me ;)

SuperDeadite

Actually there are 2 Sharp boards:
SHARP CZ-6BM1
SHARP CZ-6BM1A   

They 1A meets the VCCI standards, while the original did not.  Though I know little of what this actually means...
The Sharp boards and the 2nd SACOM board have the same pinout.

The first SACOM board uses full size din5 (standard MIDI) ports, so no need for adapter cables, but some games don't support it.

There are a few other more exotic boards, such as the Polyphonic (MIDI, FPU, and RAM), and at least one more I've seen that had MIDI and RCA audio outputs (never figured out the name.  I have one friend with the Polyphonic, but he was having issues getting the MIDI to work with games, but we haven't spoken in a few months now...