News:

Forum Updated! 

Main Menu

Pc Engine Cd Mods

Started by Broken, October 30, 2010, 07:48:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Broken

Hi I was wondering I think an Rgb mod is the main best mod to do on a Pc Engine Cd system?

I have very little experience of rgb modding in general. Is it easy to spoil Pc Engine Duos trying the mod? Is it really difficult for the first time?

The systems I could attempt to mod are a grey super cdrom 2 unit, a duo and a duo-r.

Anything would be appreciated.

NFG

It's a very simple mod.  The RGB amp is a tiny PCB that you can work on before installation, and when it's installed there aren't many wires: RGB in and out, power and ground.  A little work to create the new connector, and you're done.

Broken

Hi thanks Lawrence, but I know you're a bit of a genius with all this stuff.

I hear you're in Australia now?

imparanoic

hi hung kuen, rgb mod for pc engine apparently is not that hard, but if you not familar witj soldering, best left with the experts, if you are based in Hong Kong, I know a modder who does it at reasonable price (cheaper than UK. most modder won't touch anything older than 10 years old), he did a rgb with 8 pin din output and ps1 rgb scart convert to a pc engine 21 pin japanese rgb conversion and blue led mod for my pc engine duo, for HK$450, if i had done in uk, would off cost GBP85 plus postage from london.

imparanoic

i just seen your profile, your based in uk, raven games still do mods for pc engine, but it's pricey, at 35gbp for basic rgb mod, 20gbp for rgb colour boost (rgb amp ) scart, then if you want it cleanly modded, ie, din socket, it's would cost more, unless you can do it yourself

bigsanta

http://retro-accessories.co.uk/ourshop/prod_363563-PC-Engine-RGB-mod-kit-completed-amp-and-DIN.html

They sell the full kit to rgb mod your pc engine your self £20.00

QuoteA PC Engine RGB mod kit. Included in the package are the following components:

1. Completed SCART cable with built in amp