Getting started?

Started by Zener, April 07, 2009, 10:00:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Zener

I'm a game designer (for fun, I just write design documents, I've never gotten anything off the ground) and I recently got the crazy idea to actually make a new NES game. Just the ROM for emulator use, of course, not in an actual cartridge. I've got the design documents, a few programmer friends; we might just get this thing off the ground.

It would be blasphemy, though, not to use an actual NES controller to play with, so I googled and found out that it's actually possible to take any sort of game controller, really, and hack it to plug into USB (which is why I find myself at this very forum). "I'm an A-student, I'm relatively smart, I can do this," I thought. But I was wrong, very wrong; almost everything I could find relating to hacking controllers requires some degree of technical expertise (in what I would assume is electrical engineering) which I don't have. Even this...
http://www.gamesx.com/controldata/usbsatpad/index.shtml
...blew my mind. The schematic alone befuddles me.

So, I've decided to take on a project -- learn electrical engineering! Or at least the basics, such that I can look at that schematic and understand it, or read, "Where every other button is held high (+5v) by the chip until grounded (0v) by the button-press, the A button is held 'kinda high' by a resistor (R1) until the button makes it 'very high' by connecting it to +5 volts." and understand what the heck that means.