News:

Forum Updated! 

Main Menu

PlayStation Driver

Started by blackevilweredragon, December 21, 2006, 11:02:37 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

blackevilweredragon

So, since I might be getting a slim PS2 for christmas, I have this question, which I am just thinking about...

On the old PS2, in the PlayStation Driver menu, it don't save.  You have to apply settings each time you play a PS1 game..

Does the slim PS2 save the settings?  If not, is there a modification that can be made, that fixes this?

kendrick

PS2 backward compatibility firmware revisions 1.1 and later should retain the settings for CD drive speed and texture mapping. All of the slimline units should be running 1.3 or newer, so you ought to be fine. I'm not an expert though, and I keep a PSOne unit around just so I don't have to mess with those options if I'm not in the mood to. :)

-KKC

blackevilweredragon

heh, good..

i just hope my mother doesn't ended up getting the 75000 that has the problem with some games, PS1 and PS2 games..  that would totally suck..

blackevilweredragon

oh, and how does Crash Bandicoot Racing do it's graphics on a real PS1?  It does look like it does texture smoothing on real PS1 hardware..  the regular Crash Bandicoot games seem to do the same too (not as much though)..

I assume just programming tricks?

NFG

The slim PS2s don't have any settings for PS1 games, they are not enhanced at all.  This feature was removed.

[edited to correct typo]

blackevilweredragon

slim PS1, or slim PS2?  because i know someone with a slim PS2, and before his died, he did have settings for texture mapping..

NFG

As far as I'm aware none of the slim PS2 units have this option.  I was pretty sure, in fact, that Sony even dropped it from the features list.

Not that it was any GOOD, you traded pixelly crap for dithered crap.

blackevilweredragon

dithered crap, sounds more like what my PSone does..  it's dithering method is different than my old PSX..

blackevilweredragon