Cannot get an old ACE X68000 to work

Started by vidbuster, August 20, 2006, 03:47:08 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

vidbuster

Hello,

I have searched the entire web and this site to try to solve my problem but to no avail. Yes, I'm an extreme x68000 Noob.

Here's the model number = CZ-601C-GY

I'm in the States, bought this off Ebay a couple months back.  I've been looking for one for ages, so when one popped up, I snagged it.   :D

Here's the problem, I finally got an old Apple monitor cable and a VGA adapter to plug into my monitor.  Do I need some special cable?

Anyway, plugged into monitor, plug in power of x68000, click rear power button, but it gives me a clicking, sort of on/off power noise.  When I push the main power button on the front, the pulsing sound stops, but a soft piercing sound comes out of the system and no picture.   :(

Without any sort of manual, I have NO idea what I need to do get this to work, which way/when to put floppies in, what cables need to be connected, etc.

I can take it apart and take pics if needed, I'm desperate and afraid that I recieved a bunk system.  Any help will be soooooo apreciated, words cannot explain.

Computolio

The X68000 monitor pinout is nothing like the old-style Mac monitor pinout. You're going to have to wire up a custom cable.

Ok, so even though I've got a DB-15 pin running from the x68000 into a DB-15 to today's standard VGA out?

My only worry is that even if I get the cable, the system makes strange noises as I explained above.  Maybe, I'll post a video with audio to make it more clear.

Thanks so much  :D  

NFG

If you've got an original PSU in there then it's probably dead.  They're not reliable at all.

As for the connector, you're not telling us the whole story.  Just because the plug fits doesn't mean that it's got the right pinout.  Are the connectors you're using designed for the X68000?

vidbuster

Only received the keyboard/mouse with the computer.