Confused (A.K.A. Wouldn't this work?)

Started by Slermy, November 23, 2003, 09:04:17 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Slermy

Hi, I'm fairly new to all of these video standards and want the best possible video and audio output from my Sega Genesis/Sega CD/Sega 32X combo.  Obviously RGB would be the best, but alas, I only have S-Video inputs for the time being.  My units are NTSC-U (both the Genesis and CD are model 2 if the matters).  Now I have an RGB cable for the Genesis and a SCART-to-S-Video Monster Cable and a SCART Coupler.  Now by connecting those, shouldn't I get the correct signals?  I'm aware that PAL is 50hz and NTSC is 60hz, but since the Genesis is an NTSC unit, shouldn't it be sending the right signal?  I'm probably unware of some compatability issue that can't be overcome this way.  If so, is there a way to get all of this to work?  I really wanna play Ecco: The Tides of Time (Sega CD) and Kolibri (32X) in S-Video.

Genesis RGB Cable (though when I bought it it didn't say SCART specifically)
http://www.ncsxshop.com/cgi-bin/shop/NCS-RGB05.html

SCART-to-S-video Monster Cable
http://www.monstercable.com/europe/productPage.asp?pin=1740

I have one of these too:

Weird Adapter
http://www.lik-sang.com/info.php?category=...oducts_id=1467&

Now the above one WILL give me a picture (though the colors are VERY messed up and it looks like it's interlaced vertically?)

Thanks in advance.

Slermy

Slermy

Oops, I guess I should explain the problem.  When connecting it the way described above I get NO picture NOR sound.

Actually, I was messing with the weird adapter and can get composite video and audio out fine.  And what it looks to be is that the R, G, and B values are not alligned horizontally in the images.  Is this an easier problem to fix?  Other than that, the picture looks to be sharp and in sync.

NFG