PS2 Dualshock Controller pinouts and signals

Started by stuart_jennings1, June 28, 2005, 06:08:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

stuart_jennings1

Hi,

I'm a newbie to this forum,  so I apologise if the information I'm requesting has been posted somewhere and I just haven't found it.

First, let me explain a little about the project I'm planning. I'm going to try and modify a wireless PS2 controller to incorporate all the extra functionality and buttons found in XBOX and Gamecube controllers and then create a decoder adapter, which the wireless controller plugs into, that will then plug into all three consoles and also into a PC simultaneously so that the same controller can be used regardless of console being played and without having to plug the controller into a different console. In this way, the console that is switched on will be the one using the controller.

My problem is this: I'm trying to find the signal and pinout information for PS2 dualshock controllers (including rumble motor info) but can't seem to find a document anywhere that gives me this information. I've found the PSX Controller document on the gamesx web site but nothing about PS2 controllers. I've found snippets of information that people have posted as replies but nothing specific and have spent hours searching in Google to no avail.

If anyone knows where I can find a document (preferably like the one on PSX Controllers on gamesx) with this information, please could you let me know. I could find out the hard way, by analyzing a controller myself, but if someone else has already done the work, I would prefer not to have to reinvent the wheel. ;)

Many thanks in advance,

Stuart.
Time is an illusion... lunchtime, doubly so.[/b][/i][/font]

Adeptus

Step 1: Get a PS2-to-whatever adaptor (check it works with wireless controllers, some don't apparently)
Step 2: Plug in
Step 3: Play

OK, not what you wanted... how about this...