noob JAMMA to SCART question

Started by nez, November 08, 2003, 09:27:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

nez

Hi, another noob here...  :D

I have been using my supergun on a small 14" Philips RGB Monitor with no problems for quite some time, however I now have a place of my own, so the supergun can finally be wired up to my 25" Sanyo SCART TV, however when I do so, I get a rolling picture, the colours and brightness seem fine but the picture is a rolling mess!  :(

Is it my TV, or is there something I can do to correct this.  :huh:

Details:
My SCART lead was wired up with RGB, Video Sync, Ground and +5v (with 100 ohm resistor) to fast blanking.

Vertigo

Are all your GROUNDs attached together and linked to the shielding (pin 21) on the SCART lead?

nez

Thanks for the reply Vertigo...  :)

Only the earths for BLUE, GREEN, RED, and VIDEO GROUND are connected together.  :huh:

So do i need to add FAST BLANKING EARTH and SHIELD to those as well?  

nez

Well i added the grounds anyway, no change, so i stopped looking at the SCART connector and turned my attention to the monitor connector on my supergun...

Turns out I'd mis-wired the SYNC to the wrong pin at the Supergun end of my SCART lead!
No flippin' wonder the screen was rolling all over the place!!! :blink:

Sorry if I've wasted anyones time!

Thanks for the help anyway Vertigo!

I guess next time i should  RTFM  and check my wiring first!

NFG

Always check the wiring first, and remember that Earth is the euro term for Ground, and Shield should always be grounded (or it wouldn't do a good job as a shield).

Vertigo

QuoteTurns out I'd mis-wired the SYNC to the wrong pin at the Supergun end of my SCART lead!
:D
Don't worry, you're definitely not the only one.
Glad you sorted it though, now bust out the MVS carts and play away :)
I have a spare Garou that I could sell you but it's at home and I'm not, so I can't, sorry.

Fix_Metal