RGB Monitor, XRGB or Arcade Monitor?

Started by Black Superman, February 12, 2007, 04:20:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Black Superman

I was hoping that someone here could help me with my quest to obtain the ultimate gaming experience. I am new to retro gaming and about a month ago, my eyes were opened to the wonders of gaming in RGB (thanks to this site). Since then I have been trying to learn as much as I can about it and how I can replicate it in my home but unfortunately have been unsuccessful up to this point as to finding a display in order to properly do so.

From my research it sounds like the easiest thing to do would be to find an RGB monitor but it seems as though the ones that would be suitable for video game modification are rare and too small in size to ever enjoy (IMHO at least 20� but preferably 25� or over).

Then I thought I could use the setup I have for my Dreamcast (21� LCD VGA monitor) but again, I would need one of the rare XRGB upsan converters that don�t seem to be in steady supply anywhere.

Then I got to thinking that maybe I could get an arcade monitor and modify it to run RGB from my consoles. But this sounded like the most expensive and most difficult of the options albeit the one with the most availability.

So I guess what I am hoping someone here could help me with is whether or not I should continue my search for a decent sized RGB monitor, try to get in line to get a back-ordered XRGB-3 (or maybe find an earlier model on ebay or somewhere) or start my journey towards arcade cabinet modification and what would the quality implications be between the options if any.

Thanks

viletim