Genesis 2 composite/s video?

Started by Jemsic, April 16, 2006, 12:06:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jemsic

Anyone know how (or of a tutorial) to mod a genesis 2 to have rca or an s-video connection like the one in this picture?

viletim!

Gather the required tools (drill, soldering iron, etc), materials (genesis, connectors, wire, etc) and information (genesis video pinouts, gamesx website, etc) then... do it!

Your request seems a bit silly to me - like asking 'how do paint a fence?'

Jemsic

Sorry, I'm a little new at the whole electronics side of modding.  But I got out my voltage meter (and the pinout here on gamesx) and figured out on the circuit board where I need to solder the wires.  I just need to go buy some composite jacks now.  Thanks!

NFG

That's the kind of attitude we like to promote around here.  Open it up and have a look, then come back here for the raw data you need to build it any way you like.  Finished guides and tutorials don't really teach you anything but how to follow directions, and when you're done a step-by-step guide, what have you really accomplished?

Yeah, it's hard and it makes you think, but I'm a mean bastard that way.  =)

Good luck with your mod.  Take pics and post results!

Jemsic

I finished, tested it and it all works great!  There's something to be said about doing the whole thing without any help.  It really makes me feel like I accomplished something, lol.

Midori

Looks nice, glad you had succes with doing it :-)

XianXi

QuoteI finished, tested it and it all works great!  There's something to be said about doing the whole thing without any help.  It really makes me feel like I accomplished something, lol.

Nice but which is which? I know how it feels, my local electronics stores only carry the black plugs or sometimes the red and whites but never yellow or RGB color coded plugs. Anyone know a site I can order them from?

Jemsic