Author Topic: Is there any benefit if you add extra RAM chip to XBOX classic?  (Read 868 times)

Offline DROGi

  • SmallMember
  • **
  • Posts: 2
Is there any benefit if you add extra RAM chip to XBOX classic?
« on: January 24, 2019, 04:45:59 AM »
I noticed empty spaces for RAM chips on the original XBOX mobo.


If you add extra ones, you need to configure console firmware as well?
And if you get it to work, homebrew apps and games will need to be coded again to use such space I guess…

Has anyone done it?

Offline DROGi

  • SmallMember
  • **
  • Posts: 2
Re: Is there any benefit if you add extra RAM chip to XBOX classic?
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2019, 04:49:02 AM »
I just realized that this topic is in totally wrong forum...    :-\

Offline NFG

  • Runs the place
  • Administrator
  • ThrobbingMember
  • *****
  • Posts: 3423
    • NFGgames
Re: Is there any benefit if you add extra RAM chip to XBOX classic?
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2019, 07:04:26 AM »
I believe you'll find lots of info about this from Back in the Day, and the extra RAM will have no effect on a consumer board.  It was for dev use, and released titles will ignore it.

(I moved your post, BTW)

Offline kendrick

  • Global Moderator
  • ThrobbingMember
  • *****
  • Posts: 981
Re: Is there any benefit if you add extra RAM chip to XBOX classic?
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2019, 07:47:40 AM »
I have not personally added extra RAM to an original Xbox. I will say though, that the usual method of doing this is to yank the SMD RAM off of a different Xbox motherboard and then install it on the one you want to run.

With that said, I have used an Xbox with extra RAM and my experience was that only Linux and XBMC were able to do anything with the upgraded memory. All the original games (in any state) aren't coded to address the extra memory at all, and there's no useful way to move other console functions to that RAM (like graphics cache or whatever). So this is one of those things that you can do if you want to, but  you're not getting any sort of practical result out of it.

Offline Segasonicfan

  • ThrobbingMember
  • *****
  • Posts: 516
    • Segasonicfan Designs
Re: Is there any benefit if you add extra RAM chip to XBOX classic?
« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2019, 09:24:34 PM »
The extra RAM can be used to play Virtual Cop 3!  There are cool hacks for it, I was looking into it a while back.  That game rules and never got a home port :)

Offline tzmwx

  • SmallMember
  • **
  • Posts: 2
Re: Is there any benefit if you add extra RAM chip to XBOX classic?
« Reply #5 on: March 14, 2019, 06:01:02 PM »
BIOS:X2-4983.67
IC:K4D263238F-QC50
   (or: K4D263238M-QC50    K4D263238D-QC50  ......)

Offline Segasonicfan

  • ThrobbingMember
  • *****
  • Posts: 516
    • Segasonicfan Designs
Re: Is there any benefit if you add extra RAM chip to XBOX classic?
« Reply #6 on: March 14, 2019, 07:58:05 PM »
BIOS:X2-4983.67
IC:K4D263238F-QC50
   (or: K4D263238M-QC50    K4D263238D-QC50  ......)

HELLYES.  GameSX crew always delivers! :)   How hard was it to do the upgrade?  Know of a good source for the ICs?

Offline tzmwx

  • SmallMember
  • **
  • Posts: 2
Re: Is there any benefit if you add extra RAM chip to XBOX classic?
« Reply #7 on: March 15, 2019, 03:22:30 PM »
BIOS:X2-4983.67
IC:K4D263238F-QC50
   (or: K4D263238M-QC50    K4D263238D-QC50  ......)

HELLYES.  GameSX crew always delivers! :)   How hard was it to do the upgrade?  Know of a good source for the ICs?

EBAY or BAD xbox mother-board