Can not run file LHES: press any key to return

Started by Hoagtech, October 11, 2018, 02:23:01 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hoagtech

I just got my XVI yesterday and all games were working fine.

This morning I pressed something that gave me access to the root directory. I clicked it and the game started but I couldn't use my controller or keyboard.

I hard reset my XVI and now I cant load any games. I get music sometimes and the most common error code I see is

"Can not run file LHES: press any key to return"

Is this a common problem? How do I get back to playing these sweet games?

ShootTheCore

Run SWITCH.X and make sure that it's still set for the correct amount of system memory.  I had a problem like that once where my CMOS settings got erased and it thought it only had 1 meg of memory.

Hoagtech

How do I run switch X?

I am a total x68000 noob but would really like to solve my issue.

This is what my loading screen looks like :

famiac

hit esc twice to enter the command line, then type switch and hit enter

EDIT: Esc then Q

Hoagtech

I was told it had 2 gb system memory with either 6 or 8 mb added memory. Would I allocate for the full amount or just the system memory?

Hoagtech

Quote from: ShootTheCore on October 11, 2018, 08:58:14 AM
Run SWITCH.X and make sure that it's still set for the correct amount of system memory.  I had a problem like that once where my CMOS settings got erased and it thought it only had 1 meg of memory.

Hitting esc once brigns me to a "quit" menu. Hitting it twice cancels the "quit" menu and brings me back to the loader page?

My available memory also say "371 kb" when in fact I have 8+ megs.

How do I fix this?

Jehuty

hit ESC or Q one time and then choose "Startup Path". Now type switch.x and the X68 should load the switch Tool.

Switch is like a Bios and here you must tell him how much Ram he got.

Choose the first Option "Memory" press enter and Choose the amount of Ram your Hardware has.