Author Topic: Information on fitting hdd in FM Towns 2F  (Read 204 times)

Offline corpsicle

  • BigMember
  • ***
  • Posts: 52
Information on fitting hdd in FM Towns 2F
« on: January 07, 2018, 02:52:46 am »
Where do i find it?

edited model name :)
« Last Edit: January 07, 2018, 08:46:12 am by corpsicle »

Offline gabby32

  • BigMember
  • ***
  • Posts: 52
Re: Information on fitting hdd in FM Towns 2F
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2018, 11:09:59 am »
Information about your model computer is not even on specialized resources.
Written by "Currently under investigation"
http://labo.main.jp/newage/towns/fmt_model.html
http://labo.main.jp/newage/towns/fmt_hdd.html
You can install external hdd (FMHD) via a special card
http://labo.main.jp/newage/towns/fmt_option.html
http://www.bilder-upload.eu/show.php?file=c1ff7a-1464542698.jpg
http://www.bilder-upload.eu/show.php?file=518365-1464542747.jpg

You can check for yourself whether there is SLOT for internal hdd or not. Having little disassembled the computer case.
Slot for hdd is behind the fan behind.

Disassemble case will help with instructions and photos.


https://nfggames.com/forum2/index.php?topic=5991.0
https://nfggames.com/forum2/index.php?topic=6113.0



Offline kamiboy

  • ThrobbingMember
  • *****
  • Posts: 595
Re: Information on fitting hdd in FM Towns 2F
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2018, 11:13:51 pm »
Surely you mean 20F?

I don't recall there being space for an internal HDD in that model. Might have to use an external SCSI enclosure.

Offline gabby32

  • BigMember
  • ***
  • Posts: 52
Re: Information on fitting hdd in FM Towns 2F
« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2018, 12:23:26 am »
In model 20F you can set internal hdd. In model 2F it is still unknown.

Offline SuperDeadite

  • MassiveMember
  • ****
  • Posts: 384
Re: Information on fitting hdd in FM Towns 2F
« Reply #4 on: January 15, 2018, 07:50:20 pm »
Towns use SCSI HDDs, but the internal connector is this weird proprietary socket that combines the data and power lines into one piece.  You  had to buy a special breakout cable to have the proper connections for the SCSI drive.  Loose breakout cables don't show up on Yahoo very often, so I'd recommend most people to just use an external HDD.

Offline famiac

  • MassiveMember
  • ****
  • Posts: 320
Re: Information on fitting hdd in FM Towns 2F
« Reply #5 on: February 11, 2018, 02:09:19 pm »
why use an hdd on a towns? can you install games on the hdd? Or is it just for towns OS?

Offline gabby32

  • BigMember
  • ***
  • Posts: 52
Re: Information on fitting hdd in FM Towns 2F
« Reply #6 on: February 11, 2018, 10:44:04 pm »
Several games require installation on hdd. Cyberia, Alone in the Dark2, HORDE and several games from Alice Soft.
« Last Edit: February 11, 2018, 10:49:46 pm by gabby32 »

Offline repoMan

  • SmallMember
  • **
  • Posts: 45
Re: Information on fitting hdd in FM Towns 2F
« Reply #7 on: February 12, 2018, 01:21:20 am »
And when your CDROM drive fails, it's your only way to use the machine. With the help of an HDD installation and a external SCSI drive you can execute a good amount of software.

Right now I'm experimenting with some fast Fresh models and TownsOS v2.1L51 running from HDD is a nice setup :)

Offline SuperDeadite

  • MassiveMember
  • ****
  • Posts: 384
Re: Information on fitting hdd in FM Towns 2F
« Reply #8 on: February 12, 2018, 12:21:41 pm »
Yeah, if you have an HDD you will happy you did.  And while uncommon, a few games like Syndicate fully install to HDD and no CD is required to play them.

Offline famiac

  • MassiveMember
  • ****
  • Posts: 320
Re: Information on fitting hdd in FM Towns 2F
« Reply #9 on: February 12, 2018, 02:08:50 pm »
Gotcha. A CX20 is probably too slow to take advantage of that though

Offline SuperDeadite

  • MassiveMember
  • ****
  • Posts: 384
Re: Information on fitting hdd in FM Towns 2F
« Reply #10 on: February 13, 2018, 09:29:50 am »
It still has uses on 386 machines though.  When installed to HDD, Genocide Squared is a lot more fun as the the mid-level cd loading is eliminated.  Wing Commander can save to HDD so you don't have to use a floppy. 

Offline famiac

  • MassiveMember
  • ****
  • Posts: 320
Re: Information on fitting hdd in FM Towns 2F
« Reply #11 on: February 13, 2018, 04:13:55 pm »
Good to know. I bought a bracket just in case, and I'll try it out. Maybe i should document the pinout so people can build their own.  Thanks Superdeadite