Need help with turbo grafx 16 external rgb amp

Started by RgbGamer, December 16, 2013, 05:05:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

RgbGamer

hi, newbe here to the forum but i have been around rgb goodness and modding for some time now. i have some electrics knowledge but at a lower level. i have just about every game system from 8 bit to recent consoles with the best video they can provide with the exception of the 3do putting out rgb. i am most proud of a nes super 8 rgb system i built. then adding rgb and amp to n64 with great results was also rewarding.

anyway, back to the subject of the external rgb amp for a tg16 with cd that i threw together. i already put a socket on my tg16 and custom made scart cable to run the rgb. what i did not do was add an amp on the inside in the earliest stages. later i ordered an rgb kit to build and using wiki site for schematics i built the amp and did not have much luck with it as it would not show any video. i gave up in fear of that i might fry the tg16 as i had some close calls trying to figure things out.

later i ordered nec rgb amp board from ebay otakus store. i decided i wanted to go external with the amp because i don't want to go inside the console anymore and plus i never needed or wanted to desolder the shielding. i used a cell phone power adapter to power the amp and im not sure if thats a good thing since most mods are internal running from console power regulators. i have had an external sync separator circuit i built running from a power adapter and seems to work fine for years. i have the ground of my tg16, rgb display ground, rgb amp ground and cell power adapter neg ground all tied together but im not sure if all should be together.