News:

Forum Updated! 

Main Menu

Best CF Reader?

Started by efs, October 02, 2013, 09:44:53 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

efs

Hey all,

Many months have passed since I've first received my X68000 XVI; unfortunately, I haven't made much progress on getting a CF reader set up quite yet.

Back when I first got my XVI, BlueBMW suggested I buy a CF AztecMonster. There was talk of tomfoolery with molex connectors, wire splicing, and connecting the thing to the PSU. Unfortunately, I have zero experience with soldering and wires and all that stuff, and I especially wouldn't want to go mucking around inside a $500 vintage computer having no idea what I'm doing. I'm not crossing my fingers on there being any better options, but if like to know if there are possibly any other CF readers that work fine and require a bit less internal modification. Externally powered, perhaps? Or, if anyone could suggest any other ways to go about the AztecMonster setup, please don't hesitate to give me your two cents.

Thanks,
efs

SuperDeadite

The Aztec doesn't require modding.  The question is does your XVI have an internal HDD SCSI cable or not?  And also do you have the original PSU with the proper power plug.  If yes, then it's plug and play.  If you don't, then you need to add them, by either buying and original set (expensive) or by making your own (cheap).

In your case, I'd just go external.  Just buy a cheapo external SCSI HDD.  Open it up, pull out the HDD and put the Aztec board in it's place.  Then just use the XVI's external SCSI...   You can also use the PowerMonster2, which is the same thing, just AztecMonster is 3.5'' while PowerMonster is 2.5'' size.  The smaller 2.5'' external drives are quite nice, but a bit harder to find these days.

efs

Okay, the one who sold me the XVI included an internal SCSI HDD cable in there for me. And I'm pretty sure there's some soft of power cable in there too. So, I guess that means that there's no modding required? That's a relief.