Author Topic: Can you power a Hikaru from a Capcom I/O?  (Read 5037 times)

Offline panzeroceania

  • MassiveMember
  • ****
  • Posts: 135
Can you power a Hikaru from a Capcom I/O?
« on: May 24, 2011, 10:30:27 AM »
Can you power a Hikaru Motherboard from a Capcom I/O with Jamma power supply?

I currently live in the United States, and have a Hikaru Board plugged into a Capcom I/O, which is plugged into a Vega Jr. Supergun, which is plugged into my US Powered wall socket.

The video and audio are run straight from the Hikaru into my TV

I noticed that it ran my Naomi 1 just fine, but when I tried the Hikaru, I could hear it power on, and the fan kick in, but I wasn't getting a picture?

is it possible I have it on a video mode other than 31khz?

I know with my Naomi 1 board the dip switch was to 15khz RGB so I had to switch that, but where is the DIP switch on the Hikaru?

Any help would be appreciated.

Even if it was the picture that was off, I should still be able to hear the game power on if I have the audio plugged in right?

Offline Midori

  • MassiveMember
  • ****
  • Posts: 197
    • http://
Re: Can you power a Hikaru from a Capcom I/O?
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2011, 04:07:10 AM »
Hikaru is 24 KHz only. I've never seen a TV that supports that. You'll need a monitor capable of that resolution.

Offline panzeroceania

  • MassiveMember
  • ****
  • Posts: 135
Re: Can you power a Hikaru from a Capcom I/O?
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2011, 04:17:22 AM »
I'm pretty sure the Hikaru also supports 31khz but someone on another forum pointed out that it needs a more powerful JVS power supply, not just a standard JAMMA one.

Offline Midori

  • MassiveMember
  • ****
  • Posts: 197
    • http://
Re: Can you power a Hikaru from a Capcom I/O?
« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2011, 10:36:05 PM »
Hey, you're right. It does support 31Khz aswell, my bad.

That's fairly weird, to support both 24 and 31 Khz, wonder how they solved that with the games... Ah, wait a little, seems like it does 24 Khz if it is a multiple monitor setup and 31 Khz if it's a single monitor.

Maybe you're correct. Can you not try a stronger PSU then? An PC ATX PSU should power it without breaking a sweat. Unless it's a very weak PSU.


Offline panzeroceania

  • MassiveMember
  • ****
  • Posts: 135
Re: Can you power a Hikaru from a Capcom I/O?
« Reply #4 on: May 27, 2011, 08:57:34 AM »
I'd love to, where can I get the parts to make a power cable?

Offline alamone

  • SmallMember
  • **
  • Posts: 22
Re: Can you power a Hikaru from a Capcom I/O?
« Reply #5 on: October 30, 2013, 10:31:32 AM »
Necrobump, but Hikaru uses JVS standard, so just get a JVS power supply, same as with a Naomi. No need to hack an ATX power supply.

Offline setkiki

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Can you power a Hikaru from a Capcom I/O?
« Reply #6 on: February 21, 2019, 05:33:03 PM »
Get the parts to make the power cord here

https://www.allicdata.com