Mega Drive / Genesis 1 or 2?

Started by panzeroceania, September 03, 2009, 07:40:46 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

panzeroceania

I know this isn't talking about any mod in particular but it is related to audio and video quality.

I am planning on buying a Mega Drive / Genesis and need some guidance on what version to get, I am contemplating 4 options.

1. Japanese Model 1
2. US Model 1
3. Japanese Model 2
4. US Model 2

I have read that the Model 1 has better out of the box sound and I am still very new to modding, so I'm reluctant to do it unless I can get a very cheap Model 2.

Is there any difference between the japanese and the US versions of either console?

I have found RGB cables for both models so that is not an issue.

Any advise?

EDIT:

also there is the LaserActive and the JVC wondermega/x'eye

the laseractive is too expensive but the wondermega is feasible. Is there any advantage to getting these? what kind of A/V do they have? model 1 style or model 2?

EDIT 2: I heard that you have to mod a wondermega for RGB, what is involved in this?

EDIT 3: I have heard that the wondermega and x'eye are actually slightly different, I also heard that there is a model 1 and model 2 of the wondermega, can someone clear this up?

kendrick

If you're going for consolidated function, the WonderMega 2/X'eye probably has the best sound. There's no separate wiring link between the Sega CD and Genesis/Megadrive unit to fail or introduce extra distortion. That unit in particular also has distinct RCA-type phono jacks for direct connection to the sound output, rather than having to tap it from the custom DIN connector. It's also worth noting that the Megadrive/Genesis unit 1 has only mono sound coming out of the rear connector and produces stereo only from the headphone jack.

zedrein