More detail required on standard PAL MD / SNES mods (MODEL 1)

Started by codemonkey1980, July 19, 2009, 08:13:28 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

codemonkey1980

Hi there....Noob here requesting further detail on standard MD/SNES mods ;)

I'm new to the scene of modding, and have only basic electronics knowledge / skills etc, yet have found the standard mods available for my selected platforms to be very straightforward...I have read what subject matter I can find online, and now possess all the information required to complete my selected mods, yet am kinda bugged by not knowing how certain things work! Before I go into details, I'd just like to note that I aim on creating a detailed online guide on the mods I am attempting, and therefore any contributions to my research will be used to aid further potential modders down the line, and very much appreciated by myself!

Ok...Following are the consoles and mod details:

PAL MegaDrive (Model 1) ~ Language & 50/60Hz switches / RCA Phono connections added to the back of the case (connected from the solder points located near the headphone jack, i.e. 1,2,3) / Blue LED mounted

PAL SNES (Model 1) ~ Lockout & 50/60Hz switches / RCA Phono connections added to the back of the case (connected from the solder points located on the PCB, i.e. 4,11,12) / Blue LED mounted

Soooo, pretty standard mods :) I basically collect JAP games for each platform so the switches on both machines will address the region / speed issues for this...I also like having the option then of recieving the stereo sound from either the TV via RGB, or via the RCA connectors hooked up to an amp (or both lol)...I have focused on the Model 1 releases of both machines as these seem to be the best (simple!) choice for modding, and are easily picked up at low prices...

Now there are just a few things to clear up ;)....