RGB, VGA on my TV?

Started by ken_cinder, June 08, 2007, 02:49:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ken_cinder

Wondering what I'm going to require to get RGB outputs on my consoles working on my TV. I'm still learning here, but I think I've got a bit of a handle on it.

Can I wire up RGB to the VGA input on my TV, IF it supports 15khz on that input? I assume this is a pre-requisite.
My TV is an Acer AT3220A, and I haven't been able to dig up any useable info on it's technical specs, but I'm willing to hack things up a bit and test.

Be even better if someone could find papers on my TV, so I can see just what I'm capable of doing via it's available inputs.

Lost Monkey

I've been wondering the same about mine - the user manual indicates that it would accept 15khz on the "PC" port, but when I quickly hacked together a Genesis cable, I got no results - just black screen. I haven't had time to go back and experiment with it again...

The tv is a Panasonic TH50PX600.

movax

Your horizontal frequency has to be able to sync down to 15kHz. Even then, you still need to feed the display via whatever interface it uses, I believe R, G, B and then Sync...either H/V Sync or C Sync. The latter can be obtained from a Composite Video signal and a LM1881N, and there's probably a way to do C Sync to separate H/V sync.

Of course, some consoles also provide separate H/V Sync lines.

Endymion

QuoteCan I wire up RGB to the VGA input on my TV, IF it supports 15khz on that input? I assume this is a pre-requisite.
My TV is an Acer AT3220A, and I haven't been able to dig up any useable info on it's technical specs, but I'm willing to hack things up a bit and test.
You are correct, this is exactly what you need. I doubt anybody here will have the same television that you do but if anybody does and they read this thread I'm sure they can respond with their experiences. Roll back your sleeves and search, google is your friend.