Proposed: Beginner's Guide

Started by kendrick, August 06, 2008, 09:25:13 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

kendrick

Recent events here on GamesX compel me to try putting together a beginner's guide. Something brief but informative and collected into one document, to get all our newbies up to speed in a uniform manner. If you're willing to contribute, I'd like to solicit in this thread suggestions on what topics to cover.

The guide is intended to be no more than 1200 words and will likely be formatted as a top five list, with external references to flesh out complex topics. Obviously RGB and other video standards will be topic number one. May I impose on the veterans around here for suggestions on the other four topics to cover, please?

ken_cinder

This has me scratching my head, I came here as a complete newb. Well, newb to the content this site covers, not to electronics in general.
May I suggest a link to a thread that simply say's "Read everything you can find, and if you can't find something.......search, cause it's more than likely in here somewhere!"?

I honestly don't see this place as newbie zone. If you've never picked up a soldering iron before, you don't know what a resistor and/or a capacitor does, you probably shouldn't be here.......yet.

NFG

I fully support the idea, for two reasons:  First, it's likely to help people get their heads together before asking dumb questions or drowning in a sea of hard info.  Second, it'll help me make less an idiot of myself when I respond angrily to whiny newbs who can't abide by any site not geared to non-thinkers.  Dammit, there I go again...

But yeah: in the spirit of my video primers, soldering guide and other newb-friendly pages, I think this is something we can get behind. 

How about a table of contents, so we can get things underway?  I't's probably about time I finished the controller primer, there's the NTSC video and video primers...  What else?

kendrick