Analog Arcade Joysticks

Started by Blaine, August 04, 2006, 04:00:01 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Blaine

Long story short:

My universal joystick is almost done (there's a lot to post about it, maybe I'll do it when it's done). The big problem with it is - there's a lot of games I want to play that only use Analog controls (Super Smash Brothers, Propeller Arena, etc).

So, I'm thinking about making a smaller controller with an analog joystick. Which brings  my question.

I looked at what Happs controllers has as far as analog joysticks goes.

http://www.happcontrols.com/joysticks/50287600.htm

For the click-impaired, it's $126 for an analog control with their Ultimate joystick.

So my question is, since I've never worked with analog controls before -

Is this typical? I mean, the few ones I looked at were all in this range.

I know there's a lot more going on than your standard microswitch stick, but... damn!

If that is the price range, what are my options? Simple physics tells you I can't just slap a stick on a harvested N64 analog (the mechanical advantage would be through the roof, it'd likely snap or at least be like it was set in jello).

Anything anyone has to contribute would be welcome.

Thanks.
If you can mod it... I'll find a way to screw it up!

NFG

There's a wicked difference between analogue sticks for different systems.  Not all of them use the same kind of encoder (optical, resistance-based, etc) and none of them use the same kind of signalling to the host system.  As far as I know no one's ever made a multi-system analogue controller, it's too much of a PITA.

Blaine

Well...

hmm.

Okay, here's what my regular controller is like.

It's standard JAMMA hardware wired up to a 15pin DSUB (or it will be, I'm having trouble soldering the DSUB. If I can find a VGA extension cord that uses 14-15 pins then - I'm solid). So the joystick itself is just a collection of switches.