Mod a Snes to run java

Started by Chunk, April 20, 2005, 07:24:41 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Chunk

Im a wannabe game programmer, with most of my experience in Java.

Ive had a pretty cool idea, but I dont know if it is possible. Basically, I want to mod a snes to run Java.

I thought about basically using a snes case and fitting a small hdd with mother board and processor. The controller would work with a USB adaptor. I would also net an RJ45 NIC, so that I could copy programs over to the hdd.

I would use a small OS like damn small linux, and would only need to install Java on top of that.

The only problem I see is getting Java to recognise the controller as an input device, and taking the video signal out to TV. I dont know how difficult this would be, but im sure its possible.

So does anyone think this is a cool idea? Is there anything im overlooking? Where can I pick up the hardware parts I need for a good price?

Thanks for reading.

:D

kendrick

So essentially, you're looking at a complete swap out for a motherboard that can run the Java VM, sports a network interface and uses USB input? Sounds like you could accomplish the same goal with less work by modifying an Xbox. The four controller ports are already USB-compliant, it outputs natively to every possible television signal and it's got the network card built in. More to the point, it'd be less work just to drop a new BIOS into the Xbox than it would be to drop a whole new motherboard into an SNES.

As an alternative, maybe explore an unmodded Dreamcast instead? Except for the very last hardware run, most Dreamcast consoles can run homebrew code without modification or special equipment. The network interface is hard to come by and all the input is proprietary, but you can boot BSD, Linux or Windows CE on them and there are Java environments easily available for all those operating systems.