News:

Forum Updated! 

Main Menu

The Nokia N-Gage

Started by NFG, October 27, 2003, 12:09:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

NFG

This is a mail I sent to a cellular phone mailing list:

There's a surprising amount of what I consider to be defensive reactions to the critical appraisals the N-Gage is receiving.  I thought it was universally despised.  As I've said in a previous post my background is in games, and living in Japan I've got a pretty good idea what the situation is like here for gaming phones... 

It's important to stress that Nokia has been marketing it as a gaming platform.  Last month's Edge magazine (A UK publication) has a large N-Gage brochure, and their website is very game-centric.   Nokia's trying to say it's a game machine first and foremost, but as a game system it is if not a dead horse, then at least a crippled one.  I'd like to offer the reasons I think the N-Gage is totally abysmal as a game platform. 

The points covered below are: the pad, carts, screen, price, network, size and library.

1. The d-pad is crap.  Nearly every gaming controller in the universe has a d-pad that has some play before and after making contact, they're relatively soft and there's only a mild resistance before 'click'-ing into place.  The N-Gage is more like a celphone controller, with a _very_ stiff resistance before contact.  While this will help prevent accidental pressing in a pocket it's just not suitable for any kind of action gaming.  Naturally you'll acclimatize, but out of the box it's very unfriendly.  It's not an action- game friendly pad.  It is, however, better than most PHONE pads.