Simple(?) SNES Mods...

Started by Lord_Magus, June 23, 2004, 06:01:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Lord_Magus

I know this is probably basic stuff, but I have had no experience working with electronics or console modding before. In theory I know what must be done, but I would appreciate it if anyone had any pointers or things I should take into consideration before implementing these mods.

Firstly, I would like to replace the standard red led with a blue one. Any things I should keep in mind when doing this, so I dont end up frying the console or anything?  :o

Secondly, and I dont know if this is actually possible, but I would like to get the audio signal(probably from AV out?) from the console and insert a headphone jack on the side. The only info I have found about this was at this site:
http://alpha-ii.com/caitsith2/snes/headphone.htm
but if refers to the early SNES versions only.

Any help\suggestions would be greatly appreciated. :)  

NFG

QuoteI would like to replace the standard red led with a blue one.  Any things I should keep in mind?
The long leg is the positive one, if you put it in backwards it won't work.

QuoteI would like to get the audio signal from the console and insert a headphone jack on the side.
There are many ways to make a headphone mod, that one you showed is probably the most ludicrously simple one imaginable.  If the idea of a non-volume-controlled headphone port excites you, you can apply that same mod to a Saturn easily.

Lord_Magus

Thanks for the info Lawrence - I'll keep that in mind  ;)

About the headphones, I would like to make them volume-controlled. The problem is that the info on that site refers to the earlier SNES releases, which had an additional sound module not included in the ones produced later.
Any ideas on how I could do a similar mod to the newer models?

NFG