Mitsubishi LCD-17X4 TV

Started by opti, September 27, 2004, 12:00:40 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

opti

I'm studying in Japan now and looking to get a nice LCD TV for GameCube and PS2.  I was particularly interested in getting a widescreen model, as games are increasingly taking advantage of that.

In the sub-23 inch category (and sub-$2,000), about the only model I've seen is the Mitsubishi LCD-17X4.  It does more than the standard 480 vertical, its resolution is actually 1280 x 768.  This puts it at 15:9 rather than 16:9, oddly enough, which seems to be pretty common on the widescreen TVs actually.  So the picture would be a little squished down, or the edges would be cut off (about 40 pixels on each side).  The best solution would be to get true 16:9 and just have thin black bars at the top and bottom, but I'm not sure if that's possible.

Also, compared to 4:3 TVs in this size, it seems relatively cheap -- about �80,000, or $720.  It seems that part of the price difference is because of the lack of a digital tuner in this model, but I'm not buying it for Japanese TV anyway.  I've seen it in the �60,000 range online, but my Japanese isn't good enough to order online yet, plus there would be no possibility of return if there's a problem.

Here is Mitsubishi's page for it: http://www.mitsubishielectric.co.jp/home/c...p/lcd-17x4.html

It does not have component input, but it does have D2 which provides the same video quality, and I have already ordered D-terminal cables for GameCube and PS2.

Reviews are non-existent on the web, as far as I've seen.  Anyone have any input?

opti

I should add that I'm also curious to know if there's a way to adapt VGA to D-Input.  Component is fine, I saw plenty of  component-to-D-Input cables at the store (though it would require couplers for something like a PS2), but I've never seen something that goes from VGA to component or D-Input that I can recall.  I know the other way around is possible with an XRGB2+ or X-Select D4.