How do I make the RGB ouput on my SNES useful?

Started by Josh, January 12, 2008, 08:56:55 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Josh

I have an SNES, and I'm looking to get a Super Famicom, along with an official Nintendo Japanese RGB cable for the system.  I believe this cable has the Japanese-style 21-pin connector, but I'm not sure.  Anyway, I live in the US and don't have any TVs or monitors that could accept this signal, so I have two options:

1)  Get a TV or monitor that could accept this signal, but I don't know what exists and where to start.

2)  Somehow convert the RGB signal to something I can use on my American TVs or monitors, if I can do this without losing any quality in the video or sound.

So, how would I go about either option?  I guess this is a really general question, but I'm a total newbie here.
Impossible is just a word people use to make themselves feel better when they quit. ~ Vyse

phreak97

well, you cant convert awawy from rgb without losing any quality, or else nobody would bother with rgb at all.. but you can use any standard snes av cable with the super famicom. otherwise you can get an rgb to component adaptor, but theyre usually expensive.

eastbayarb

Quote from: phreak97 on January 12, 2008, 12:19:09 PM
well, you cant convert awawy from rgb without losing any quality, or else nobody would bother with rgb at all.. but you can use any standard snes av cable with the super famicom. otherwise you can get an rgb to component adaptor, but theyre usually expensive.

phreak,

are you saying that you can hack a standard SNES AV cable (even if it is composite) to an RGB cable? Explain how if so....

kendrick

A first party SNES/N64 video cable is held together with four clips and is easily opened with a couple of small flathead screwdrivers. When you open one up, this is what you'll find: