Failed (?) attempt at PCEngine Scart mod

Started by teknogrebo, September 20, 2005, 12:43:58 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

teknogrebo

Hi,

First of all, I'm kind of hoping that this is a non judgemental forum, as I am not an electronics expert, I know how to solde and can follow a diagram, but that's pretty much it.

I have an original white pc engine system that I wanted to wire up a scart lead to as I dont have a japanese TV.  I read all the instructions for RGB mods on this site and had a pretty good idea of what I was up against.  Unfortunately I couldn't get a round 9 pin Din plug as Maplins (UK version of Radio Shack) don't sell them, so I went for an 8 pin variant, thinking that I could use the same pin for audio ground and video blanking ground (scart pin 4 & 18).  This may or may not have been my first rookie mistake.  I don't know.   I took out the RF unit as I wanted to use the space for the din plug, as I don't have the means to cut holes in the case.  2nd mistake? Possibly.   I wired all the connections up, connecting my combined ground to a pin that the old RF unit was using thinking it was 'groundable'.  This may have been my 3rd mistake.  

The end result is that when I turn the console on, the TV changes to the correct AV input, but I get the correct audio but with a loud hum that sounds like hi-fi earth hum.  I also get a black screen with vague distortions that change as the game display changes, so some sort of video signal is getting through.  I have triple checked all my connections, made sure that I haven't accidently shorted any lines on the PCB, the only other thing I can think of that may be of some note is that I didn't reconnect the big thing (that I assume is a heatsink) that covers the PCB.

Can anyone tell me where I may have gone wrong, and what I can do to check/rectify it?  (Without being judgemental).  The PC Engine was a birthday present from my wife and I am rather desperate to get it working.