Need help with buying an X68000

Started by Tromaville, January 22, 2012, 03:36:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Tromaville

Hi I've been looking into getting a x68000 for a while now and all I've got so far is a headache. It doesn't help that I've only had experience with consoles so I'm used to being able to buy a system that I can plug into a monitor and play right away. I've come across a seller parity_dot on YAJ, but I'm not entirely sure what extras I'd need to buy with the system.

I've been looking at this one in particular:
http://page6.auctions.yahoo.co.jp/jp/auction/f105405394

Do I need to buy the 4MB RAM to play most games on the system?

I assume a mouse and keyboard are required and then a controller.

Would I also need to buy the extra HDD? And what about the OS?

Is there anything else I'd need before I can plug it into a monitor and play? I'm mainly interested in playing the Konami/Capcom titles and some of the shmups on the system.

Sorry for being a complete noob about this but I'm finding the basic information hard to come by.

neko68k

You dont _need_ more than 2MB ram but honestly I would snatch up anything you feel comfortable paying for. Some of the Capcom games require 4MB(SSF2), most games will only need 1, and a small selection need 2(Cotton).

RobIvy64

Not only do I have that exact model (the Super), but I bought mine from the same seller.

First of all, this guy does great work. I was shocked at how clean my system was when it arrived. He mentions disassembling each piece and cleaning them, and I believe it. No worries there, you will be very happy with the quality of his refurbishment.

In order to be completely "plug and play" you will need a VGA adapter. If you are even a novice when it comes to soldering, you can make your own adapter. It's dead simple.