Gamecube controller (DOL-003) Triggers hack (?)

Started by Shin, February 10, 2009, 01:33:15 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Shin

Hi everyone !
just found this thread which kinda sums up my problem, but got a warning that it was very old and probably not a good idea to bump...

anyways, I'm triple-pcb-modding an arcade stick>

everything worked fine(please don't flame, It's my first attempt at modding something :(), only thing is that I didn't get how to hack the GC L&R analog triggers to digital because the triggers are made of 2 parts, a sliding analog thing and apparently a digital "end of course" button.

I tried to just wire just the L&R digital points (as seen here left and right most ones) to the arcade stick buttons but it didn't work.(different ground than the other buttons ?)

am I supposed to hack the sliding part of the triggers too ? (like I did on the 360 madcatz arcade controller pcb with the following instructions)

thanks a lot in advance, any kind of help would be really appreciated :)

NFG

Having never done that I can't really offer any specifics, but there's every chance that the system doesn't recognize the digital shoulders if the analogue ones weren't used also.  That's the first thing I'd check.  And yeah, check for duplicate ground too.

Also, nice stick.  Wish I had one.  =)

ken_cinder

If you've played Defender for Gamecube, you will realize the analog function of the shoulder triggers does nothing at all.
This isn't to say that the hardware isn't designed where the analog trigger must be active before the digital will work though, that may very well be the case.

My only suggestion would be to force the analog triggers into a fully closed state, like pushing them all the way in and hot gluing them in place. Though I don't fully understand how you've made use of the pad to begin with.

NFG