Need help with my x68000 ACEHD

Started by sy35, September 15, 2012, 12:59:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

sy35

Hello to all i am new to the x68k and have two of them. i have some problems with them. one did work till i gave it a bit of a clean  but not now  :'( . it powers up and the green light comes on but that is it and when you turn it of the fan still keep running and it will not go to stand bye. can any one help me please.

Maxwar

I am rather new the the x68000 myself and likely wont be much help but you should provide more details, such as: what exactly do you mean by "giving it a bit of clean" ?

In any case when i first had my Compact XVI, it suffered from leaky capacitors and the disks i  had were bad. If i tried to feed it a bad disk it would usually spit it out butt  sometimes it would kind of try to load it and hang and behave in the way you describe ( no soft power off )

Once i had good disks, this did not happen anymore.

sy35

Hi

I stripped it down to clean it as it had a lot off dust in it. i don't do any think to damage it as far as i know. i hope some one can help or it looks like they are dead, i just hope they are not

Maxwar

Possibly a HDD issue?
I dont know much about the X68k Hard drive, my model does not have it.  Does yours still have it?
Is it possible you disconnected a cable  while cleaning?
Did you try booting with a floppy?

The more background info and history about what happened, the more people can help you.

sy35

Hi

I don't think it is a HDD issue as i have tried  the other x68000 and it is doing the same thing and that has no HDD in it. I did disconnected the cable off of the bottom bored but that's all . I also try to put in a floppy but it did nothing. will see if i can put a video of it on later

BlueBMW