Learning X68000 programming

Started by ces, March 21, 2014, 08:47:24 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ces

Hi,

I've been a MSX2 user and developer for years, and I've recently become interested in the X68000, because it seems it has most of the features I missed on the MSX2. However, after some searches, all the programming docs I found are in Japanese (I don't understand Japanese, I just understand English and Spanish).

This seems to be the most complete X68000 forum on the Internet, so I hope I find here answers to these questions:

1- Is there any (complete and 100% functional) emulator that runs on Linux or other Unices?

2- Are there any resources for learning X68000 programming if you don't understand Japanese?

Thanks a lot!!

virux

About the docs, this is an extremly important question!

There is a Technical documentation translation project at

http://mijet.eludevisibility.org/X68000%20Technical%20Documents/English%20X68k%20Docs.html

although it's far from complete..

some useful info can be found at

http://datacrystal.romhacking.net/wiki/Sharp_X68000
and
http://www.jcec.co.uk/X68kinfo.html

There is a thread by kamiboy on this forum:
http://nfggames.com/forum2/index.php?topic=5115.0
where he wrote on his findings on the topic - it was an interesting read, but sadly it was pretty rude stopped by a moderator.

kamiboy, is there any news since then? :) maybe you've already built some early alpha of your game?

All the docs above are pretty much fragmentary and actually I would LOVE to have some links to actual japanese documentation (and then just use google translate)
All I could found that is more or less useful in japanese, is:

X-BASIC reference:
http://ww3.enjoy.ne.jp/~zoomark/ip/xb/xb_frm.html

Human68k commands reference:
http://www.geocities.co.jp/SiliconValley3115/Human68k/Human68k.html