Saturn Power supply same as DC?

Started by Mike, July 28, 2004, 04:14:24 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mike

hey all i need some help. my power supply board got all screwed up. i was checking post about saturn's parts being almost the same as a dc. i cannot find a broken dc anywere cheap for my old dc. everything else works on it but the power supply broke. ebay's a pain on broken dc parts cost to much might as well buy a used one which i already did. but i want to keep my old one as well as a back up system. cause on the saturn output is: +9V  +5V  +3.3V ground ground. now on the dreamcast its 3.3V 5V ground Space Ground 12V. i noticed there is 5 spots on the saturn and 6 on the dreamcast but one is empty which probably doesnt matter. yes i am a noob. i found this forum for some help i was wondering if anyone can help me out. the connectors for the power supplys and switches are the same. i know this place is about mods and what not. i need some big help if anyone can can you please email me or post a msg here for me. thanks :)

cappamike@yahoo.com

NFG

I don't recommend it, but I haven't looked at the two different units to compare.  If you're successful please let us know!

Mike

damn. i wish someone here has done it i have seen sites saying it can be done but u have to take apart the unit to do it. like the ground and what not to do it. but the thing that worrys me is cause saturn uses 9V and dreamcast is 12V would it matter if i use a 9V on a 12V output on the dreamcast is what i am more wondering instead of trying it and destroying 2 systems in the process.

NFG

Just buy another DC.  Sell the saturn to pay for it if you have to.

Also: We prefer proper grammar and punctuation around here.  Words like 'u' are officially discouraged.  =)

bcforn64

Quote+9V +5V +3.3V ground ground