Interest Check: Network Cards

Started by famiac, September 27, 2016, 08:34:17 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

famiac

Hey all,

I may be prototyping five Neptune-X v0.4 boards in the near future based on some schematics found in the nfg archive. Is anybody interested? If so, i can give a ballpark price estimate per board. Keep in mind that you will have to find an NE2000 compatible network card to use this board, which is less than ideal. But it seems to me like a better idea than shelling out $600 for a nereid. (Why are those things so goddamn expensive anyway?)

kamiboy

The Nereid cards also have USB support built in, right? As well as providing RAM expansion. In that case the price makes sense.

Martin8bity

Sounds interesting. I would be interested. I have some experience with electronics, but not too much with X68000 yet.

elmer

I'd like to get some kind of high-speed link to the X68000 for development, so I'm definitely interested in a board if you make them.

Unfortunately, I don't really have the electronics experience, or I'd just put one of these ...

http://www.waveshare.com/ft245-usb-fifo-board-mini.htm

... on a board with a 5V CPLD or discreet logic like the Neptune-X, and you'd have something for really fast file transfer.

famiac

Quote from: kamiboy on September 27, 2016, 06:25:02 PM
The Nereid cards also have USB support built in, right? As well as providing RAM expansion. In that case the price makes sense.

Is there any documentation available for the nereid USB drivers?

I'll let you guys know when the boards are fabricated.

elmer, do you know where I can find information about the x68k's i/o slot.

kamiboy

Hell if I know. I am just used to seeing them listed on Yahoo. Once I took a peek inside one of these auctions and saw that they featured USB and ram expansions in addition to network. They usually come with a driver disk and a manual. Not sure if the manual contains what you are looking for or not.