Replacement PSU for X68000 XIV

Started by Jamie, June 03, 2016, 11:09:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jamie

The PSU on my X68000 XIV has playing up for a while but finally died recently, i get the red light on the front but nothing happens when i turn it on.

Rather than trying to get the PSU itself fixed, i'd like to replace it with something like the PicoPSU solution that has been posted elsewhere on this site. I've no experience at all with electronics so wouldn't be able to put this together myself. Is there anyone that sells ready made solution for this? So that the original PSU can be removed and a new one installed without any electronics work needing doing by myself?

frankmonk

Hi,

I installed this Flex Power Supply instead of the original x68000 in my ACE.
FSP FLEX FSP220-60LE

it perfectly fits inside the x68000 and I was also able to use the original internal cabling for it. I also re-wired the external power cord. it looks
even the fan is placed exactly the same way like the original one. I did not had to cut anything on the case to make it fit

Jamie

Thanks for the reply, is this the psu you're talking about http://www.newegg.com/global/uk/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817104080

What modifications would i have to do to it to make it work with the X68000?

Ale555

Hello, thanks for the suggestion, thinking about it!
What does it mean, you were able to use the original internal cabling? Was it, like, plug and play?
It would be an enormous finding, so could you please explain more?

sharp

I know the legend himself BlueBMW suggests picopsu's. They are a nice size, and cobbling an ATX harness with the original x68k PSU wires is not too difficult.

A shame the tetris block PSU's are so flaky. I want to believe in the tetris block!  (;

FrankMonk has a good point though.. using picopsu requires a case modification for the DC jack, ideally that would not be required. By using an AC powered PSU you can use the original PSU wire/switch.

frankmonk