Problems with X68k Super and scsi2sd

Started by Corummo, March 12, 2016, 04:34:33 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Corummo

Hi there.

I'm an happy X68k newcomer, and I purchased a scsi2sd for my Super model.
I have no disks to boot my system, except for a Gradius floppy (with HumanOS 3.02), and PowerMonger, with an older OS release.

Switch.x says that boot options are set to STD, and system has 2MB of RAM.

When I power on my machine, scsi2sd just blinks, then the system prompts for a bootdisk, I insert the Gradius floppy, just to see everything hang, with the scsi2sd disk led on, with a solid light (no blinking).
If I remove the SD card, I get the same behaviour.
If I detach the whole scsi2sd board, I obtain to restore system booting with the floppy.

I'm no HumanOS expert, so I'm asking some kind advice to get me started.

I downloaded the X68000v4 disk image by Eidis, and restored it on a Class 4 4GB sd card, and on an older 2GB card, with no class at all. Images are correctly written, because I dumped and browsed them back with editdisk.
Sadly, I have no sd cards of less than 2GB, and I hope the problem isn't related to this.

My configuration is:

Thanks in advance.

famiac

Get the masterdisk v3.
Run scsiformat
set your bootflags to bootable

then run bootset.x
when asked for an address, enter ed0100

you should be good.
More info here:
http://gamesx.com/wiki/doku.php?id=x68000:hard_drive_on_sasi_machine

Corummo

Many thanks for your reply.

I have to setup a side-PC with a 5,25" floppy drive I already have.
It seems a must for X68k owners.

This sequence of operations will erase my sd card, right?

Once I configured the X68k to start from scsi, can I eventually restore the Eidis' X68000v4 disk image?

famiac

Changing the bootflags won't reformat your sd card.

Corummo

I finally got to boot with the MasterDisk v3 but, when I run SCSIFORMAT, every SCSI drive ID I may try, appears not being connected.
What to do next?  :(

marshalld12

hello