Which USB progammer will work for micros GC joystick in an N64 controller mod

Started by Roboplodicus, July 29, 2013, 05:22:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Roboplodicus

First off I'm a super noob at this, I've never programmed a pcb or modded anything electronic before.  So I want to try out the mod where I put a GC stick in a first party n64 controller using Micro's guide but my PC doesn't have a parallel port and I don't know which USB programmer will work because in his guide it says the programmer needs to be stk200 compatible, but looking on ebay the USB ones only mention they are stk500 compatible, though they do say they can program the ATMega8 and the ATTiny24.  Help please.

cheema201

Which guide are you referring to?

This one?

I haven't done that myself.

But I've found that USPasp (programmer) in conjunction with extreme burner (PC program) to be very friendly to us who aren't very technical (like myself)

I've successfully used that combo and it supports both atmega8 and attiny24

public-pervert

You don't really need the exact same programmer that Micro used. You just need a programmer that can write on the MCUs you're using.

USBASP + Extreme Burner is a good choice and easy to mess with. You'll need the .HEX file and not the .BAS file though. Be sure to write the correct fusebits too.

Good luck!

Roboplodicus

Ah ok, thanks, that clears things up for me, I was thinking I would probably just use the free program BASCOM-AVR that micro recommends in his guide and use micros code rather than write my own.  Where would you recommend I buy the micro controllers themselves from?

Mitchfork

Can't go wrong with Digi-Key.

http://www.digikey.com/product-detail/en/ATMEGA8A-PU/ATMEGA8A-PU-ND/1914639
http://www.digikey.com/product-detail/en/ATTINY24A-PU/ATTINY24A-PU-ND/2050990
http://www.digikey.com/product-detail/en/ATTINY24A-SSU/ATTINY24A-SSU-ND/2050982