Help for a Newbie on his PVM-2030

Started by zelkian, July 12, 2011, 02:38:40 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

zelkian

Hello all, I've been lurking around these forums for a little while getting lots of good information on how to make a 25-pin CMPTR to VGA cord, but  I can't seem to get it to work. Also, I'm very new to soldering and wiring.

Like I said, I got a PVM-2030 for $20(yay) and my goal is to hook up a computer to it for emulation.

I saw this post : http://nfggames.com/forum2/index.php?topic=4028.0

I followed the diagram exactly how it was shown, although I did notice the Hysnc, R, G, & B were off by 1 pin by comparing it to the PVM-2030 manual, so I adjusted accordingly.

I tried soldering the wires with 25-pin and VGA connectors, but I can not seem to solder without burning something or making a mess of the solder. Then I tried crimping and that seemed to be a lot easier for me and I would able to set that up. But when I plugged the connecters in I got no signal at all to the PVM. I tried a few more times to make another cable assuming that maybe I just did a crappy job, but no luck again.

So, I was wondering if someone could possibly make one for me (25-pin from PVM-2030 to 15-pin VGA on computer), I'd pay of course, or refer me to someone who could make one for me.

I'd be willing to try a go at it again, but I think I'd need a detailed guide so I know what I'm doing is right.

RGB32E

Have you setup soft15kHz on your PC yet?  You have to get your PC to output a 15kHz signal or else the PVM-2030 won't display a picture.

zelkian

Yes actually, but I'm not entirely sure how to tell if it is working or not. I'm running Windows 7 and an Radeon X850 card.

I noticed on the wiki for Soft15khz that 640x480 at 60hz interlaced was 15khz so I tried to set that. Aren't the resolutions suppose to show up in windows though? I still had to use powerstrip to try and set that.