Arcade Newbie Thread

Started by panzeroceania, February 04, 2010, 08:43:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

panzeroceania

Ok, so I decided to start a Q&A thread for budding arcade collectors on the basic components required, etc.

I am a beginner, so this is going to be a lot of questions.

As far as I understand it, most arcades have some basic parts

The Motherboard --- this usually (from what I understand it, correct me if I'm wrong) is the main part of the system, it has all the boards that contain the CPUs, GPUs etc. if you are a console gamer, a simplified way of thinking of this, is this is the console.

The Media --- whether they be their own PCB (Printed Circuit Board) Cartridge, Disc, Hard Drive, or other media, these are the games.

The Power Supply --- from what I've heard you can also use certain PC power supplies to power your arcades.

The Monitor --- some games require CGA, some EGA, and some VGA you need an RGB monitor that can do one of those depending on the game

The Control Panel -- This includes the joystick and pushbuttons, or if it's a specialty arcade, the racing wheel, or whatever input device is used, I'm fairly certain they will have their own PCB, or be connected to some I/O board, this part I'm not clear on so someone please help me clarify.

The Cabinet -- This one is optional but it is the housing used for arcade machines anywhere but home use, they are durable and usually fairly cool looking, to use this to make money you'd need an operating coin slot as well.

what other components are found in some arcade units commonly that I've forgotten? are there typically audio boards? or anything else like that?

I'm looking into getting several arcade kits, and maybe eventually getting a candy cab if I can afford it.

My interest is primarily in all Sega arcade boards but I also have an interest in the CPS2, Neo Geo, the namco boards that are based on the PS1 and PS2, but mostly the sega boards.

I also have a few odd questions.