Author Topic: Genesis PAL NTSC Mod  (Read 5718 times)

Offline blackevilweredragon

  • ThrobbingMember
  • *****
  • Posts: 714
Genesis PAL NTSC Mod
« on: September 20, 2006, 05:15:09 pm »
I'm going to do this mod, and was wondering how hard do you think this would be..
http://www.mmmonkey.co.uk/console/sega/md1switches.htm

I finally did my NES Stereo mod, which I was scared to do...

Mainly, what's im worried about, is, it says I have to put a little blob of solder on the pins..  I never really done that before..  Do I have to?  Can't I just push a wire through the hole, and use the already existing solder?

Offline Lawrence

  • Runs the place
  • Administrator
  • ThrobbingMember
  • *****
  • Posts: 3311
    • NFGgames
Genesis PAL NTSC Mod
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2006, 06:59:30 pm »
Old solder doesn't work as well as the fresh stuff.  

It's super easy to add a dab of fresh solder, don't worry too much about it.

Don't, like, HEAP it on!

Offline blackevilweredragon

  • ThrobbingMember
  • *****
  • Posts: 714
Genesis PAL NTSC Mod
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2006, 11:15:12 pm »
Quote
Old solder doesn't work as well as the fresh stuff.  

It's super easy to add a dab of fresh solder, don't worry too much about it.

Don't, like, HEAP it on!
well, im quite new to soldering..  i only recently tried "pre tinning"...

This was my "best" job I ever did:  http://www.spymac.com/upload/gallery/2006/..._stereones2.jpg

Only thing I don't know how to do, put little blobs on the Genesis..   I think I may practice with a paper plate or something...

Offline Endymion

  • ThrobbingMember
  • *****
  • Posts: 750
    • http://zombo.com
Genesis PAL NTSC Mod
« Reply #3 on: September 20, 2006, 11:22:24 pm »
That's . . . quite a large blob. At least it is nice and symmetrical, I've seen some first attempts that looked like a solder explosion, with the stuff everywhere. If you just use less than what you used there you should do fine.

Offline blackevilweredragon

  • ThrobbingMember
  • *****
  • Posts: 714
Genesis PAL NTSC Mod
« Reply #4 on: September 20, 2006, 11:24:48 pm »
Quote
That's . . . quite a large blob. At least it is nice and symmetrical, I've seen some first attempts that looked like a solder explosion, with the stuff everywhere. If you just use less than what you used there you should do fine.
I'd imagine solder size also contributes, right?  I'm using solder that's as thick as the wire (with insulation), in that pic...

Offline blackevilweredragon

  • ThrobbingMember
  • *****
  • Posts: 714
Genesis PAL NTSC Mod
« Reply #5 on: September 21, 2006, 12:16:56 am »
Hmm, is it normal for the Genesis to default to NTSC English with NO traces?  (i checked with a multimeter, those traces ARE cut)

Offline Endymion

  • ThrobbingMember
  • *****
  • Posts: 750
    • http://zombo.com
Genesis PAL NTSC Mod
« Reply #6 on: September 21, 2006, 12:18:31 am »
Absolutely! Go get yourself a thinner spool, as thin as possible. You can always add more. It is just so much harder to remove it when you have too much on your hands.

Offline blackevilweredragon

  • ThrobbingMember
  • *****
  • Posts: 714
Genesis PAL NTSC Mod
« Reply #7 on: September 21, 2006, 12:52:12 am »
yes!!  I did it!!  thanks guys :)

(endymion -- my father told me that he had very small solder in the garage..  i went and got that, did the mod, and now my Genesis is multi-regional)

Guest

  • Guest
Genesis PAL NTSC Mod
« Reply #8 on: September 24, 2006, 12:46:57 pm »
let's see some pics of that mod!

Offline blackevilweredragon

  • ThrobbingMember
  • *****
  • Posts: 714
Genesis PAL NTSC Mod
« Reply #9 on: September 24, 2006, 12:53:13 pm »
Quote
let's see some pics of that mod!
http://www.spymac.com/upload/gallery/2006/...genesismods.jpg

Mine got connected differently, because on my Genesis, when there is NO trace, it defaults to 60Hz ENG..  So, why bother with the extra wires?